Washington’s offensive line received the nation’s highest honor for that positional group: The Joe Moore Award.

“The dominance of our offensive line has been critical to our team’s championship season. Under Coach Scott Huff’s leadership, this unit has provided exceptional protection for Michael Penix all season long, and paved the way for a physical and efficient run game as well,” said head coach Kalen DeBoer about the unit. “The Joe Moore Award is a tremendous tribute to their production and an honor they will truly cherish! I am proud of the work they have put in to receive such a great achievement!”

The Huskies’ O-line was consistent in supporting one of the nation’s top offensive attacks in 2023 under the leadership of offensive line coach Scott Huff. UW only averaged 125.2 rushing yards per game on 4.5 yards per carry, but the unit also only gave up 11 sacks, which was good for 5th fewest in the nation.

Huff’s unit got better throughout the season (averaged 162 rushing YPG over the last four contests) and was notably an athletic and well-connected group. They finished the year by largely pushing around an Oregon defense that was physically dominant all season, enabling the offense to run for 157 yards and a pair of scores.

Behind the offensive line, star quarterback Michael Penix Jr. threw for over 4,200 yards and 33 touchdowns. Penix was a finalist for the Heisman Trophy as a result and finished second in voting for the prestigious award.

The award is presented by the Joe Moore Foundation for Teamwork, which states that “The Joe Moore Award for the Most Outstanding Offensive Line Unit will annually recognize the toughest, most physical offensive line in the country, making it the only major college football award to honor a unit or group.”

It is named after Joe Moore, who was a longtime offensive line coach at both Notre Dame and Pittsburgh. Aaron Taylor, who played for Moore and is currently an analyst with CBS Sports, helped in creating the award which was first presented in 2015 to Alabama. The Crimson Tide and Michigan are the only multi-time recipients.