Kalen DeBoer is one of 26 coaches who have been named to the Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year watch list.

The group was announced on Tuesday by the American Heart Association. The award is in its 38th season and is presented annually to the college football coach who “make(s) the sport better for athletes and fans alike by demonstrating grit, integrity, and a winning approach to coaching and life – both on and off the field.”

DeBoer is one of five Pac-12 coaches on the watch list. He’s joined by Oregon’s Dan Lanning, Oregon State’s Jonathan Smith, USC’s Lincoln Riley, and Colorado’s Deion Sanders.

Washington is ranked No. 5 in the country. After a 36-33 win over the Oregon Ducks on Saturday, the Huskies are off to a 6-0 start to the season. It’s the best six-game start to a season since 2017.

DeBoer, who is 17-2 to begin his tenure at Washington, has led the Huskies to wins over the rival Ducks in back-to-back seasons. He has as many wins against Oregon in two tries as the previous four head coaches before him did in 16 combined years.

The full watch list is below:

  • Jeff Brohm – University of Louisville
  • Mack Brown – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Mike Elko – Duke University
  • Mike Norvell – Florida State University
  • Ryan Day – Ohio State University
  • James Franklin – Pennsylvania State University
  • Jim Harbaugh – University of Michigan
  • Mike Locksley – University of Maryland
  • Lance Leipold – University of Kansas
  • Steve Sarkisian – University of Texas at Austin
  • Brent Venables – University of Oklahoma
  • Troy Calhoun – United States Air Force Academy
  • Curt Cignetti – James Madison University
  • Jamey Chadwell – Liberty University
  • Willie Fritz – Tulane University
  • G.J. Kinne – Texas State University
  • Kalen DeBoer – University of Washington
  • Dan Lanning – University of Oregon
  • Lincoln Riley – University of Southern California
  • Deion Sanders – University of Colorado
  • Jonathan Smith – Oregon State University
  • Eliah Drinkwitz – University of Missouri
  • Lane Kiffin – University of Mississippi
  • Nick Saban – University of Alabama
  • Kirby Smart – University of Georgia
  • Mark Stoops – University of Kentucky