The Maxwell Football Club released its annual preseason watch list for the Maxwell Trophy on Monday, an 85-man list that includes 11 players from the Pac-12.

The award is given annually to the most outstanding player in college football. USC’s Caleb Williams brought it home during the 2022 season — the Pac-12’s first winner since Marcus Mariota captured the honor in 2014. With Williams back again for the 2023 season, he has to be viewed as one of the favorites to earn the honor again.

Florida’s Tim Tebow was the last player to win multiple Maxwell Awards, claiming the trophy during his Heisman season in 2007 and then again in 2008 when the Gators won a national title. Williams would love nothing more than to follow that same script.

But the Pac-12 also has several other strong contenders. Of note, Williams is one of seven league quarterbacks on the preseason watch list.

Here are the players from the Pac-12:

  • Arizona QB Jayden de Laura
  • Arizona WR Jacob Cowing
  • Cal RB Jaydn Ott
  • Colorado QB Shedeur Sanders
  • Oregon QB Bo Nix
  • Oregon State RB Damien Martinez
  • USC QB Caleb Williams
  • Utah QB Cameron Rising
  • Washington QB Michael Penix Jr.
  • Washington WR Rome Odunze
  • Washington State QB Cameron Ward

The full list can be found here.