Only three Pac-12 receivers landed on the preseason Biletnikoff Award watch list, released Thursday by the  Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC). All three of them are transfer players and newcomers to the league this season.

It highlights what figures to be a changing of the guard across the league at the position in 2022. Of the top 15 Pac-12 wideouts last year (by yards gained), only four will play in the Pac-12 again this fall. None of the top seven return. The three players named to the Biletnikoff watch list on Thursday—USC’s Jordan Addison, UCLA’s Jake Bobo, and Arizona’s Jacob Cowing—figure to rank among the conference’s best this upcoming season.

Not a whole lot else is known beyond them.

In total, 43 players were named to the 2022 watch list. The award, given annually to college football’s best receiver, can be presented to any player who catches a pass regardless of position. With tight ends and slot backs eligible for the award, it’s curious someone like Brant Kuithe—Utah’s leading receiver last season, a tight end—was left off the list.

However, receivers are frequently added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. The TQC stipulates that “actual, not potential, performance is the basis for inclusion on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.”

Addison won the award last season for his breakout campaign with Pitt. In helping the Panthers to the ACC title, Addison produced over 1,500 receiving yards and tied for the NCAA lead in touchdown receptions with 17. Now with the Trojans, he’ll look to build off that year in Lincoln Riley’s offense with Caleb Williams throwing him the football.

Cowing was one of the best receivers at the Group of Five level last season. Teaming up in Tucson with Washington State transfer quarterback Jayden de Laura figures to give the Wildcats a major boost to a passing game that was one of the least efficient outfits in the country last season. Cowing finished second among all qualified FBS receivers in yards per route run last season, per PFF.

The 6-foot-5 Bobo comes to UCLA from Duke after finishing top-10 in the ACC in receiving yards last year. As Dorian Thompson-Robinson looks for replacements for his top two targets from a year ago, Bobo projects as the kind of receiver who will be leaned on regularly.

The winner of the award will be announced in December and then presented the trophy at a black-tie banquet in Tallahassee, Florida, on Saturday, March 4, 2023.

The full preseason watch list can be seen below:

  • Jordan Addison, USC
  • Hassan Beydoun, Eastern Michigan
  • Jake Bobo, UCLA
  • Kayshon Boutte, LSU
  • Brock Bowers, Georgia
  • Roderic Burns, North Texas
  • Jermaine Burton, Alabama
  • Dante Cephas, Kent State
  • Tyrese Chambers, FIU
  • Jacob Cowing, Arizona
  • Jalen Cropper, Fresno State
  • Daewood Davis, WKU
  • Nathaniel Dell, Houston
  • Josh Downs, North Carolina
  • Grant DuBose, Charlotte
  • Zay Flowers, Boston College
  • Zakhari Franklin, UTSA
  • Corey Gammage, Marshall
  • Te’Vailance Hunt, Arkansas State
  • Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State
  • Jayshon Jackson, Ball State
  • Rakim Jarrett, Maryland
  • Ali Jennings III, Old Dominion
  • Quentin Johnston, TCU
  • Nick Mardner, Cincinnati
  • Michael Mayer, Notre Dame
  • Marvin Mims, Oklahoma
  • Puka Nacua, BYU
  • Isaiah Neyor, Texas
  • Ryan O’Keefe, UCF
  • A.T. Perry, Wake Forest
  • Jayden Reed, Michigan State
  • Corey Rucker, South Carolina
  • Trayvon Rudolph, NIU
  • Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Ohio State
  • Keytaon Thompson, Virginia
  • Cedric Tillman, Tennessee
  • Mitchell Tinsley, Penn State
  • Parker Washington, Penn State
  • Xavier Weaver, South Florida
  • Dontayvion Wicks, Virginia
  • Quian Williams, Buffalo
  • Xavier Worthy, Texas