Oregon State has announced its football team captains for the upcoming season, a group of six players that includes three-time selections in safety Jaydon Grant and quarterback Tristan Gebbia.

Grant and Gebbia are joined by offensive linemen Jake Levengood and Brandon Kipper, and linebackers Omar Speights and Kyrei Fisher-Morris.

Perhaps the most notable selection is Gebbia. The sixth-year senior from Calabassas isn’t expected to be the team’s starting quarterback, but he’s been selected as a captain for the third time at Oregon State despite starting just five total games as a Beaver. Gebbia hasn’t had the cleanest bill of health since transferring from Nebraska, and he’s expected to back up Chance Nolan, but another selection makes his value to the team crystal clear.

Gebbia took over at quarterback for the Beavers late in 2020, starting four games and looking promising in the process. But a serious hamstring injury sidelined him for an extended period of time. He wasn’t ready to roll in fall camp last season and didn’t appear in a game.

Speights is the only non-senior captain. The six players were selected from a team vote.

Another note worth mentioning: in recent years, Oregon State has named four team captains at the beginning of the season and then rotated a fifth each week during the season.

The Beavers open the season at home on Sept. 3 against Boise State.