Oregon takes late lead over Texas Tech after controversial interception call
Oregon quarterback Bo Nix threw it up for grabs and a Texas Tech defender came down with the football in the endzone.
Tech celebrated, thinking it was an interception. Oregon claimed he was out of bounds.
We got some controversy late in Lubbock.
A potential game-changing interception in the fourth quarter — on third-and-2 no less — was ruled incomplete on the field. That ruling then stood after replay review. Oregon kicked a field goal on the next play to take a 28-27 lead.
After review, this potential INT for Texas Tech is ruled as an incomplete pass
Do you agree with the call? pic.twitter.com/BXXhh6uISB
— FOX College Football (@CFBONFOX) September 10, 2023
Nix had been turnover-free to that point.
For the majority of his Oregon career to this point, the wild decisions that plagued his Auburn tenure were non-existent. But deep into Texas Tech territory on Saturday night, Nix threw late and into coverage trying to make something happen.
Was he bailed out by the officiating crew?
That was up for debate on social media immediately after.