On Wednesday, two Arizona specialists landed on preseason award watch lists. Kyle Ostendorp is on the 2022 Ray Guy Award watch list while Tyler Loop landed on the Lou Groza Award watch list

The former goes annually to the nation’s best punter while the latter is awarded to college football’s best kicker. Loop was the only kicker from the Pac-12 on the 30-man Lou Groza watch list. Ostendorp was joined by California’s Jamieson Shaehan and Stanford’s Ryan Sanborn as the only three players from the league on the 49-man Ray Guy watch list.

Ostendorp earned preseason All-Pac-12 First Team honors on Tuesday. That selection came as no surprise after he snagged the All-Pac-12 First-Team spot following the 2021 season. His 49.2-yard average on punts led the Pac-12 and ranked fourth nationally. Ostendorp bombed a 71-yarder against San Diego State last season.

Loop became the first player in Arizona history to make their first 10 career kicks (12-for-12), and he was the only Pac-12 kicker to finish 100% on field goals with double-digit attempts last season. Loop kicked a long of 42 yards and led the team in scoring with 48 points in 2021. After spending the 2020 season as the team’s primary punter, Loop finished the 2021 season as the PAT and short kick specialist.

Ten semifinalists for the Ray Guy award will be unveiled on Nov. 8. That group will be trimmed to three finalists, announced on Nov. 18. The 2022 winner will be announced live on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards show in early December.

The Lou Groza award will reveal 20 semifinalists on Nov. 3 and then three finalists on Nov. 22. The winner of the award will also be announced during the end-of-the-year awards show on ESPN.