Tommy Lloyd is going to run out of shelf space soon.

On Tuesday, the Arizona head coach was named Coach of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. On Wednesday, he was given the same honor by the US Basketball Writers Association (USBWA).

Lloyd will formally receive the award at the upcoming USBWA College Basketball Awards Banquet in St. Louis on April 11, hosted by the Missouri Athletic Club. He is is the first Arizona coach to earn the honor and the first from the Pac-12 since Tony Bennett at Washington State in 2007. He’s only the fifth Pac-12 coach to earn the Henry Iba Award, joining UCLA legend John Wooden (a six-time winner), Pete Newell (Cal, 1960), and Ralph Miller (Oregon State, 1981).

Lloyd guided the Wildcats to a 33-4 record this past season, a ride that included both the Pac-12 regular season and conference tournament championships. Hired last April from Gonzaga, Lloyd immediately elevated the Arizona program in his first year ever as a major college head coach.

“I thanked these guys after the game,” Lloyd said following the team’s Sweet 16 loss to Houston last week. “They really helped me get Arizona basketball off to a good start in my tenure.

“We really built some foundational pieces that are really going to serve us well going forward. Extremely proud of the guys. Extremely proud of the coaching staff.”

This season, Arizona became just the third school to earn a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament under a first-year coach. (The tourney began conventional seeding in 1979.) Lloyd also sits behind only North Carolina’s Bill Guthridge (1998) for most wins in a season by a first-year head coach.