Dave Heeke will soon represent the Pac-12 on the NCAA Division I men’s basketball committee.

The league has appointed Arizona’s athletic director as its new representative, replacing UCLA AD Martin Jarmond, who served for one year. UCLA’s announcement that it would depart the Pac-12 to join the Big Ten Conference in 2024 led to the league’s decision. Heeke will begin in September.

“It is a privilege to represent the University of Arizona and the Pac-12 Conference on one of the most prestigious committees in all of college sports,” Heeke said. “The NCAA tournament is the epitome of excellence in college athletics, and I am honored to serve on this committee to ensure it remains the premier event and competition for all student-athletes, coaches, staff members, fans and alumni to enjoy.”

Heeke is the third person from Arizona to serve on the committee, joining former athletic directors Ced Dempsey and Jim Livengood.

Other members of the committee for the 2023-24 season include Alabama AD Greg Byrne, Butler AD Barry Collier, Minnesota AD Mark Coyle, North Carolina AD Bubba Cunningham, Iowa State AD Jamie Pollard, Samford AD Martin Newton, Bradley AD Chris Reynolds, Sun Belt commissioner Keith Gill, A10 commissioner Bernadette McGlade, Big Sky commissioner Tom Wistrcill, and Southwestern Athletic Conference commissioner Charles McClelland.

McClelland will chair the committee for the for the 2023-24 season.