A new season for Arizona State basketball begins on Nov. 7.

The Sun Devils announced their finalized non-conference schedule for the upcoming 2022-23 season on Tuesday. Coach Bobby Hurley’s eighth year leading the program will begin at home against Tarleton State. ASU will then play Northern Arizona and Texas Southern to close out the week and prepare for a trip to Brooklyn to take on VCU and either Pitt or Michigan at the Legends Classic.

Here’s the full schedule leading into the start of Pac-12 play:

  • Monday, Nov. 7 vs. Tarleton State
  • Thursday, Nov. 10 vs. Northern Arizona
  • Sunday, Nov. 13 at Texas Southern
  • Wednesday, Nov. 16 vs. VCU at Legends Classic in Brooklyn
  • Thursday, Nov. 17 vs. Pitt/Michigan at Legends Classic in Brooklyn
  • Tuesday, Nov. 22 vs. Grambling
  • Sunday, Nov. 27 vs. Alcorn State
  • Thursday, Dec. 1 at Colorado
  • Sunday, Dec. 4 vs. Stanford
  • Wednesday, Dec. 7 at SMU
  • Monday, Dec. 12 vs. Creighton in Las Vegas
  • Sunday, Dec. 18 vs. San Diego
  • Wednesday, Dec. 21 at San Francisco

Arizona State gets Texas Southern, SMU, and San Francisco on the road in the non-conference. It’ll play three other neutral site games. Since the start of the 2015-16 season (Hurley’s first in Tempe), the Sun Devils have one of the best out-of-conference road records in major college basketball. Only Miami and Wichita State have a better record than ASU (9-3) in non-conference road games.

A date with Texas Southern — an NCAA Tournament team last season as the SWAC champion — is part of the Pac-12’s landmark educational and scheduling partnership with the SWAC. (More about it here.) The Tigers have made six NCAA appearances in the last eight years.

The Sun Devils played one of the toughest non-conference schedules in college basketball last season. Its non-conference strength of schedule ranked 18th nationally, according to KenPom. The Sun Devils struggled to open the year, falling to 7-15 at one point in early February, but rallied to close out the year with wins in seven of its final eight regular-season games.